Artist Statement 2

My practice is still about movement and how we display and manipulate movement. After going to the Alexander Calder exhibition this has inspired me to develop another diversion in my practise of movement. Calder’s work is all about the engineering and balance created by suspension. However, I am more interested in how we can create things that can be moved manually or mechanically to make an art piece. I would also like to explore how I can combine this with my mark making and how these creations could possibly make marks from their movement. In terms of the filming element of my work, I would like use film as a form of documentation, as this is a successful way for me to record my work. I think of this as my electronic sketch book – a way of being Independent in how I can record my thoughts and ideas. I also have my own blog, this allows me to research and document my research on other artists and relate this to my own work.

Leave a Reply

