Sam Francis – Sky view

IMG_1251

Sam Francis is an American abstract artist who is highly influenced by the outdoors and the artist Jackson Pollock. In this current piece of work that I have actually been to see at the Tate, this is a sky view of a landscape done in an abstract format. The thing that attracts me to his work is the use of colour. This is because it is big and bold and very eye-catching. When going to view his work you are astounded by the scale of his work. He has encouraged me to want to use colour in my work as up until now that has never appealed to me and I have always worked in black and white.

http://www.samfrancis.com/

Leave a Reply

