Zoe Maslen – Hair

maslen_zoe__10mb-copy-4[1]

‘Hair’

This is a piece of artwork by Zoe Maslen that I was lucky enough to see in the Jerwood drawing prize 2014. She is an Oxford Brooks graduate student that has studied fine arts. When I saw this work I was blown away by the scale of it, but on further research I’m more blown away by the process  behind the creation of the work. On first glance I thought that it was a charcoal drawing of a representation of hair but further research has led me to see that it is her own hair that she has gathered and hair sprayed together to then scan onto an A3 print creating what she has here.It just shows me that you don’t need to draw to make marks so beautiful like she has above.

https://zoemaslen.wordpress.com/portfolio/absents-presence-project/

Leave a Reply

